Our people

To tātou iwi

Advisory Groups | Rōpū Kaitohutohu

Science Advisory Panel

High-Value Nutrition Science Advisory Advisory Panel members (from left) Professor Phillip Calder, Professor Nancy Krebs and Professor Sean Strain (Chair)

Professor Sean Strain (Chair)

Sean Strain is the Emeritus Professor, Human Nutrition, Northern Ireland Centre for Food and Health (NICHE), Ulster University, Ireland. Sean Strain is internationally recognised for his micronutrient research – specifically in the areas of trace element nutrition, fatty acid metabolism and in B vitamin metabolism.

Professor Philip Calder

Philip Calder is the Professor of Nutritional Immunology, Human Development & Health, Academic Unit, Faculty of Medicine, University of Southampton, UK.  Phillip Calder is a New Zealander who is Professor of Nutritional Immunology at the University of Southampton. His research is broad but focuses on the nutritional modulation of immunity, inflammation and cardiometabolic disease risk.  Professor Calder trained at Massey University, the University of Auckland and Oxford University. He has over 500 scientific publications and is listed by Thomson Reuters as a Highly Cited Researcher.

Professor Nancy Krebs

Nancy Krebs is Professor of Paediatrics at the University of Colorado’s School of Medicine, and the Vice Chair of Academic Affairs at the University. Her research interest is in zinc and trace mineral nutrition, defining dietary requirements and evaluating the metabolic regulation and adaptation to different intakes and physiologic states and treatment of adolescent obesity.

Industry Advisory Panel

High-Value Nutriton Industry Advisory Panel (from left) Gerard Hickey, Sarita Males, Richard Jones, Kevin Marshall, Craig Armstrong, Jeremy Hill, Ronnie Butt.

Craig Armstrong, Director, New Zealand Trade and Enterprise (Chair)
Craig Armstrong is Director (Customers) at New Zealand Trade & Enterprise. He has global executive and Board experience with Lion Nathan, Cadbury Schweppes, Hunterskil Howard, CPLG, National Foods and HJ Heinz. He is also trying to make a success of growing and commercialising edible oils from tree crops.

Victor Goldsmith
Victor Goldsmith is of Ngāti Porou descent having been born and raised in Gisborne. He has over 30 years of experience is Māori   governance and management through farming, forestry, fishing and honey interests. Victor is the Chief Executive Officer of Te Runanganui o Te Aupouri, former General Manager of the Ngāti Porou Miere Limited Partnership and former National Operations Manager for ApiMed Medical Honey Limited. Victor is also an independent director for Ngāti Pahauwera Commercial Development Limited, Director of Ngāti Porou Whanui Forests, Director of Ngāti Porou Forest Limited, Chairman of the Audit & Risk committee for Ngāti Porou Forests, Chairman of Awatere B Trust, a sheep & beef, honey and forestry business on the East Coast, a member of the Taumata (Māori Council) for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs & Trade and Chair of the Māori Advisory Group for Te Uru Rakau/Forestry New Zealand.

Gerard Hickey, Managing Director, Firstlight Foods 
Gerard Hickey has over 10 years of experience as Managing Director and Co-Owner of Firstlight Foods Ltd and brings his knowledge and skills in business strategy and innovation, consumer preferences,  marketing and sales, value chain structures, and product development. He has a background in the New Zealand animal agricultural sector with a focus on promoting the provenance of premium grass-fed beef and lamb and developing sustainable pasture to plate processes.

Dr Jeremy Hill, Chief Science & Technology Officer, Fonterra
Jeremy Hill has held senior research and development leadership roles throughout the dairy supply chain including General Manager of Research and Development at the Livestock Improvement Corporation, Deputy Chief Executive of the New Zealand Dairy Research Institute, Fonterra General Manager of Manufacturing Innovation, and Fonterra General Manager of Research and Technical Operations.

Mahara Inglis, CEO, MitoQ
Mahara is a purpose-driven CEO with a passion for leading highly agile businesses that are transforming the global food, nutrition, and supplement industries to deliver both profitable and better health, environmental, and social outcomes. Mahara brings a strong background in strategy, customer-centered solutions, international business, high growth ventures, and go to market. Prior to joining MitoQ, Mahara worked at Fonterra where he held roles leading the Global Probiotics business and leading the Fonterra Corporate VC and Accelerator. Prior to Fonterra Mahara also spent 3 years as a consultant with McKinsey & Company. Mahara holds an MBA from the University of California – Berkeley, where he was a Fulbright Scholar, and has dual degrees in Commerce and Environmental Science from Victoria University of Wellington. He descended from Nga Rauru Kitahi in Taranaki.

Sarita Males, Chief Technology Officer, Douglas Nutrition
Sarita has a Bachelor of Technology (Bio-Technology and Bio-Process Engineering) from Massey University and post graduate qualifications in Dairy Science and Technology, and Business Administration (Finance). Her previous career experience includes roles with The Foodbowl and Food Innovation Network,  New Zealand Dairy Board, New Zealand Dairy Ingredients, wheat producer Manildra Group (London and New South Wales), Ogilvy Interactive Worldwide (London), Terralink International Ltd and the Hyperfactory.

Jennifer Yee Collinson, Nutrition & Regulatory Affairs Manager, Frucor Suntory
Jennifer is a food scientist and New Zealand registered dietitian. An industry consultant and nutrition & regulatory affairs manager for Frucor Suntory, her roles have encompassed public health, product development, nutrition communications, nutrition and health claims regulatory compliance and research partnerships with Crown research agencies and universities. Professional activities have included the New Zealand Nutrition Foundation council, the Health Star Rating advisory group; and currently the New Zealand Food and Grocery Council health & technical working group, and the Australian Beverages Council public affairs and technical & regulatory affairs committees. She is past chair of the New Zealand Fruit & Vegetable Alliance working group and past president of Food Writers New Zealand. In her spare time she is a sourdough maker, an avid culinary tourist and loves walking.